Moving from HabitKit to HabitForge
HabitKit is a grid you fill one tile a day: no account, no feed, nobody watching. HabitForge needs a Google sign-in and puts other people beside you, so it is a different kind of quiet.
Should you move at all?
If nobody watching is the point, stay. A new HabitForge profile is public and ranked until you change it in Settings.
Also check what HabitForge does not do. HabitForge has no iOS app, no home screen widgets and no health sync, and nothing guides you through replacing one habit with another.
The move, step by step
HabitForge has no importer, so this is done by hand.
- Get your list out. Export a backup from HabitKit and keep it. HabitForge cannot read it, so the list you copy from is your own.
- Sign in. Open HabitForge and sign in with Google. There is no password to set.
- Add your habits. Add each habit by hand. A habit you are quitting is a break habit. Then go to Settings and switch off the public profile and leaderboard if you want it quiet here too. Create a habit has every field.
- Write the loop on the ones that matter. Add the cue, routine and reward to two or three habits first. The rest can stay as a name until you need more.
- Set up what surrounds them. Widgets do not come across. Set a daily reminder if the grid on your home screen was your reminder.
- Keep both for a week. Your old numbers stay in HabitKit. In HabitForge every rope starts as a thread on your first check-in, and that first week is when it looks thinnest.
The facts, side by side
Last checked 7 November 2026. Prices and features change, so every fact links to the page it came from. Check HabitKit yourself.
| Plan | Price | Terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free to use with a few habits; no account, works offline | habitkit.app |
| HabitKit Pro 1 Month | $1.99 a month | First-listed App Store item; the list also shows 1 Month at $0.99 and $4.99 | apps.apple.com |
| HabitKit Pro 1 Year | $11.99 a year | The list also shows 1 Year at $5.99 and $24.99 | apps.apple.com |
| HabitKit Pro Lifetime | $29.99 once | The list also shows Lifetime at $14.99 | apps.apple.com |
| Feature | HabitKit | HabitForge |
|---|---|---|
| Cue, routine and reward written on each habit | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| A picture of the habit beyond a streak number | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| A missed day leaves the kept days in place | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| Habits you want to stop | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
| Pause a habit and come back | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Reminders | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| Friends, challenges or a feed | No (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| Web app | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Android app | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| iOS app | Yes (habitkit.app) | No |
| Check in offline | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| Export your data | Yes (apps.apple.com) | Yes |
| AI drafts and reflections | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| A per-seat household plan | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes |
| Home screen widgets | Yes (apps.apple.com) | No |
| Health or wearable sync | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
| A free plan | Yes (habitkit.app) | Yes |
| Open source | Not stated on the pages we checked | No |
Where to next
- Check-ins and streaks: what a day counts as here.
- All the guides: the other apps we have written this for.
- HabitKit beside HabitForge: the same facts, on the comparison page.